1A, I-Space, S.No.51, Bavdhan Khurd,
Off Pune-Mumbai Bypass Rd, Bavdhan Pune 411 021, India
Phone : +91-020-4016 2201 , +91-020-4105 1818

Thinker and thought leader, researcher and innovator, scientist and philosopher, educator and educationist, author and articulator, policy architect and institution builder,
Dr. Vijay Bhatkar is one of the internationally acknowledged scientist and IT leaders of India.


Dr. Vijay Bhatkar is one of most acclaimed and internationally acknowledged scientists of India. He is presently the Chancellor of Nalanda University. In this responsibility, he has committed himself to resurrecting the glory of ancient Nalanda, in the context of 21st century. Prior to Nalanda responsibility, he was the Chairman of Board of Governors of IIT Delhi from 2012 to 2017.

He is best known as the architect of India's national initiative in supercomputing, where he led the development of India's first supercomputer Param in 1990, under the technology denial regime. Currently he is steering the National Supercomputing Mission of developing Exascale Architecture Supercomputing for India.

Dr. Bhatkar is also widely known for bringing ICT to the masses through a wide range of path-breaking initiatives, such as the celebrated GIST multilingual technology covering India's 22 official languages with 10 diverse scripts that has dissolved the language barrier on computers once for all; MKCL's computer literacy programme that made a world mark by creating 10 million computer literates within a decade; Education to Home (ETH) initiative for bringing the benefits of ICT to school education.

In the 80's, Dr Bhatkar substantially contributed to the ushering of electronics revolution in India. He is also credited with the creation of several national research labs and institutions, notably amongst them being C-DAC, ER&DC Trivandrum, IIITM-K, TechnoPark, MKCL, IsquareIT, ETH Research Lab and Multiversity. Simultaneously, he has mentored several innovation-based start-ups.

Dr. Bhatkar has served as a member of the Scientific Advisory Committee to PM, Member of the Governing Council of CSIR and a member of the IT Task Force constituted by PM in 1998. He is a Life Fellow of IEEE (USA) and Fellow of ACM (USA), besides being Fellow of CSI, INAE, IETE, NASI, MASc and GES. He has served as the Chairman of e-Governance Committees of Maharashtra and Goa.

Know more


I can think. I can listen. I can talk. I can walk the talk.
I can remain hungry. I can bear failure. Therefore I can succeed.

Chancellor, Nalanda University
Founder Chancellor, India International Multiversity
Chairman, Unnat Bharat Abhiyan(UBA), Govt. of India
Member, TAC, National Supercomputing Mission
National Persident, Vijnana Bharati(VIBHA)
Chairman, OC, Science and Engineering Reasearch Board
Co-Chair, national Steering Committee, SVAROP,DST
Chancellor, D.Y Patil University, Kolhapur
Chief Mentor, ETH Research Lab, Pune
Member Scientific Advisory Committee to PM
Member of IT Task Force constituted by PM
Chairman, Board of Governors, IIT Delhi
Founder Executive Director, C-DAC
Director, ER&DC, Trivandrum
Member Governing Council, CSIR
Chairman, ETH Research Lab
Chairman, e-Governance Committee, Govt of Maharashtra
Chairman, e-Governance Committee, Govt of Goa




Ⓒ 2017, All Rights Reserved.